Agri events guide

Today, March 23
Annual IHFA premier bull show and sale, Nenagh Mart

Open Day, Salesian Agricultural College, Pallaskenry, Co Limerick, tours from 10am to 2pm

IFA ANC meeting, 8pm, Treacys West County Hotel, Limerick Rd, Ennis, Co Clare

Friday, March 24

Corrin Mart, Fermoy, dairy sale

Sunday, March 26

Point to point horse racing at Knockardbane, Liscarroll, Mallow, Co Cork

Tuesday, March 28

Teagasc workshop: assessing viability of on-farm co-digestion systems, 10am, Animal Bioscience Research Centre,

Teagasc Grange, Dunsany, Co Meath

Wednesday, March 29

Building Rural Community, Lessons from Sport: MIC, St Patrick’s College Campus, Thurles, lead speaker Pat Spillane, 7-9:30pm, tickets €10: 0504-21201

Thursday, March 30

Corrin Mart, Fermoy, annual all breed bull show and sale, enquiries to 025-31611

Friday, March 31

Corrin Mart, Fermoy dairy sale

Sunday, April 2

Point to point horse racing at Ballynoe, Co Cork; and Fairyhill, Templemore, Co Tipperary

Wednesday, April 5

Bandon Mart annual premier pedigree bull show and sale

Thursday, April 6

Teagasc Agri Environment Conference, Tullamore Court Hotel, 9:30am–4:30pm

Friday, April 7

Corrin Mart, Fermoy, special EBI sale

Sunday, April 9

Point to point horse racing at Dromahane, Mallow, Co Cork; and Bulgaden, Kilmallock, Co Limerick

Tuesday, April 11

Irish Pig Health Society Symposium, Charleville Park Hotel, Co Cork: enquiries to 087-2488792


Lifestyle

From Turkey to Vietnam, here’s where the chef and food writer has fallen in love with on her travellers.Sabrina Ghayour’s top 5 cities for foodies to visit

Dr Dympna Kavanagh, chief dental officer, Department of Health (University College Cork graduate)Working Life: Dr Dympna Kavanagh, chief dental officer, Department of Health

Like most Irish kids of our generation, chillies, spicy food, heat were never really big aspects of our formative eating experiences.Currabinny Cooks: Getting spicy in the kitchen

New Yorker Jessica Bonenfant Coogan has noticed a curious discrepancy between east and west when it comes to Cork county; arts infrastructure has tended to be better resourced in the west of Ireland’s largest county.Making an artistic mark in East Cork

More From The Irish Examiner