Watch UCC score two goals in 10 seconds but still lose Sigerson semi-final

St Mary’s 2-7 UCC 2-6

St Mary’s are through to their first Sigerson Cup final since 1993 after overcoming UCC in the opening of this afternoon’s semi-finals, writes Eoghan Cormican.

The Belfast University withstood a barrage of UCC attacks during the six and a half minutes of second-half stoppages played by referee James Molloy.

St. Mary's Kevin McKernan and Adrian Spillane of UCC at the final whistle. Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

The Galway official showed two red cards to UCC in the second-half. Adrian Spillane was first to depart. He was yellow-carded in the first-half and then saw black seven minutes from the end. Matters went from bad to worse for the Cork University as Alan O’Donovan received a straight red card for a challenge on Ciaran Corrigan in the ensuing play.

It was Corrigan’s goal that was the decisive score. He landed their first score of the second-half when gaoling on 50 minutes. Their second green flag moved them 2-6 to 2-5 in front. Corey Quinn nudged them two clear thereafter.

A Brian O’Driscoll free reduced the gap to the minimum in second-half stoppages, but he was unable to steer over a subsequent free that would have forced extra-time.

St Mary’s had the wind in the first-half and led 1-6 to 2-2 at the break. Both UCC goals arrived in the fifth minute. Ian Maguire scored the first. The subsequent kick-out went wrong and Cathal Bambury added their second.

Scorers for St Mary’s: M Fitzpatrick (1-1); C Corrigan (1-0); O O’Neill (0-3, 0-2 frees); K McGreary (0-2 frees); C Quinn (0-1).

Scorers for UCC: C Bambury (1-1); I Maguire (1-0); B O’Driscoll (0-3, 0-1 free); K Spillane (0-2 frees).

UCC: M Martin (Cork); C Begley (Kerry), F Clifford (Kerry), J Foley (Kerry); K Crowley (Cork), S Cronin (Cork), T O’Sullivan (Kerry); R O’Toole (Cork), I Maguire (Cork); B O’Driscoll (Cork), A Spillane (Kerry), J Kennedy (Tipperary); R Buckley (Kerry), K Spillane (Kerry), C Bambury (Dingle).

St Mary’s: M Reid (Down); R Mooney (Derry), A McKay (Armagh), K Mallon (Armagh); C Byrne (Tyrone), K McGeary (Tyrone), A Nugent (Armagh); D McConville (Armagh), O O’Neill (Armagh); K McKernan (Down), B Óg McGilligan (Derry), S McConville (Down); C McCann (Tyrone), M Fitzpatrick (Down), C McShane (Tyrone).

Referee: J Molloy (Galway).

More in this Section

Football rumours from the media

River Plate celebrate Copa Libertadores with 'It's a Long Way to Tipperary' tune

River Plate win Copa Libertadores by beating Superclásico rivals in Madrid

Klopp insists he was never worried over Salah matching last season’s highs


Islands of Ireland: The lady of the lake

Beauty and miraculous evolution of avian flight

Celebrate the pine marten

Who are the top dogs among hyenas?

More From The Irish Examiner