Tipp win Waterford Crystal Cup

Tipperary 1-21 Clare 2-12

Tipperary claimed their first Waterford Crystal Cup title since 2008 after a hard-earned win over Clare before 1,632 spectators at Sixmilebridge this afternoon.

Declan Ryan's charges led by 1-12 to 1-07 at half-time, but were forced to battle bravely in the second half against an eager Banner outfit.

An Aaron Cunningham goal gave Clare a 1-2 to 0-3 lead early on, but Tipperary responded in perfect fashion.

The visitors added 1-5 without reply with full-forward Brian O'Meara netting their only goal of the decider after 20 minutes.

The sides were evenly balanced before the break, with Tipperary taking a five-point advantage into the second half.

Wides proved costly for Clare on the restart, but the sides went point for point as the intensity increased.

A Daire Keane goal cut the gap to the minimum on a 2-11 to 1-15 scoreline with 18 minutes remaining.

However, Tipperary outscored the hosts by six points to one in the closing quarter, with Clare left to rue 16 wides at the full-time whistle as the Premier County inflicted a first defeat of the season on Davy Fitzgerald's side.

After the game Tipperary goalkeeper Brendan Cummins accepted the cup, on behalf of the victors, from Munster GAA Chairman Robert Frost.

More in this Section

Ireland beat the All Blacks, again!!

Salt Bae serves dinner to Lionel Messi and Paul Pogba in Dubai

Scotland show spirit as South Africa scrape to victory

Eddie Jones urges England players to learn from narrow Japan victory

Breaking Stories

Wishlist: Colour Christmas gifts for the home

Live by the book or create your own wonderful outlook

Interiors are brought back to book

Significant winter auctions of Irish art are under way

More From The Irish Examiner