Tipp claim first Munster Hurling title in three years

Tipperary 0-21 Waterford 0-16

By John Fogarty

Eamon O'Shea claimed his first piece of silverware as Tipperary manager when his side claimed the county's first provincial title since 2012.

And this will come as a particularly satisfying one given that it seemed for long periods as if the game was played on Waterford's terms.

But for one Seamus Callanan shot, Stephen O'Keeffe wasn't troubled in the Waterford goal but it didn't matter as last year's All-Ireland runners-up were happy to take their points, eventually wilting their opponent's resolve.

Derek McGrath's men levelled matters in the 43rd minute but from there on in Tipperary commanded the scoreboard.

John O'Dwyer was excellent, taking scores in 54th and 58th minutes and then adding a monster free in the 68th to push them four ahead.

Callanan was restricted to frees and 65s but Niall O'Meara was a nuisance as was Lar Corbett when introduced at half-time.

Colin Dunford did have a goal chance in the 59th minute when three points would have levelled it but Darren Gleeson was level to it.

The 43,084 in attendance were treated to a captivating first half that Tipperary started the brighter, leading 0-6 to 0-2 after 13 minutes. O'Meara was the thorn in Waterford's side, taking two points inside the first seven minutes.

Waterford composed themselves but largely thanks to the pressure their forward line were putting on the Tipperary backs.

They levelled matters in the 24th minute when Maurice Shanahan capitalised on a poor clearance by Ronan Maher. That was the fourth in succession from the visitors as they made the pitch so small for Tipperary.

A long John O'Dwyer free ended 11 minutes for Tipperary without a score but it wasn't until the 35th minute via Michael Breen that they ended a 21-minute period without one from play.

That levelled the game for a third time before Seamus Callanan pointed a free, punishing an Austin Gleeson foul on Patrick "Bonnar" Maher", to edge Tipperary in front at the break, 0-10 to 0-9.

Scorers for Tipperary: S Callanan (0-6, 4 frees, 2 65s); J O'Dwyer (0-5, 2 frees); N O'Meara (0-3); J Forde, Patrick Maher (0-2 each); M Breen, L Corbett, S Bourke (0-1 each).

Subs for Tipperary: L Corbett for M Breen (h-t); S Bourke for J Forde (67); C O'Brien for S McGrath (70).

Scorers for Waterford: M Shanahan (0-8, 3 frees, 2 65s); K Moran, S Fives, A Gleeson (1 free) (0-2 each); C Dunford, P Curran (0-1 each).

Subs for Waterford: T Devine for E Barrett, Shane Bennett for Stephen Bennett (both 44); P Curran for C Dunford (63); D Fives for J Dillon (67).

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; R Maher, J Barry, Pádraic Maher; C Barrett, S McGrath, K Bergin; M Breen, J Woodlock; J Forde, B Maher, Patrick Maher; N O'Meara, S Callanan, J O'Dwyer.

WATERFORD: S O'Keeffe; N Connors, B Coughlan, S Fives; A Gleeson, T de Burca, P Mahony; J Barron, K Moran; M Walsh, E Barrett, J Dillon; Stephen Bennett, M Shanahan, C Dunford.

Referee: J Owens (Wexford)

More in this Section

Blue moon now rising over Anfield

Waterford storm back to claim stirring victory

McCarthy encouraged by Long’s return to form

Farah and Gebrselassie enter dispute over alleged robbery from Ethiopian hotel


Limerick is once again coming up with some innovative new artistic ventures

More From The Irish Examiner