SPL clubs planning to resign

The chairmen of the Scottish Premier League clubs today agreed a new television deal with the BBC - but also started the countdown for the League’s melt down.

The 10 non-Old Firm clubs have declared they will hand in their resignation after failing to agree with Rangers and Celtic over plans to change the voting structure.

Bryan Jackson, Motherwell’s administrator, said: "The 10 SPL clubs do intend to resign in the next 24 hours."

More in this Section

Noel Mooney open to Niall Quinn-FAI link-up

U20 Championship: Red Rose gain some revenge on Ireland

Martinez says Lukaku move would be good for the striker and Manchester United

England beat Ireland U20s with last-minute try


Characters and craic await at Sligo coastline

Living in a glasshouse: Meet stained-glass artist Alison Byrne

Your guide to buying art

7 reasons why Rome is the family-friendly city break of your dreams

More From The Irish Examiner