Referee for All-Ireland hurling final announced

Referee for All-Ireland hurling final announced

Tipperary official Fergal Horgan will take charge of this year's All Ireland hurling final meeting of Waterford and Galway.

Horgan has already refereed this year's Munster final, as well as Kilkenny and Wexford's Leinster semi-final.

He will be the first Munster-native to referee an All-Ireland final since 2010.

Cork’s Colm Lyons will be the standby referee with Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow) as the other linesman and the sideline official will be Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

Fergal’s umpires on the day will be John Ryan (Cashel King Cormacs), as well as his Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams clubmates Paul Ryan, Mick Bulter and Sean Bradshaw.

Sean Cleere of Kilkenny will officiate in the Minor decider between Galway and Cork.

More in this Section

Draw sees 10-man Bohs bag Euro spotDraw sees 10-man Bohs bag Euro spot

Cup finalists Rovers seal Students’ fateCup finalists Rovers seal Students’ fate

Drogs’ vital late levellerDrogs’ vital late leveller

Cork City end home campaign on a highCork City end home campaign on a high


It never ceases to stop me in my tracks when I hear my husband intone to our children one of the oft overused phrases from my stockpile of, “Can you just not?” categories.Lindsay Woods: If my children feel I’m doing it wrong then I must be doing it right

In honour of our Made in Munster special edition, Joe McNamee creates a four-course meal showcasing the best produce from the province. And there’s a lot to celebrate.The Menu's Made in Munster six course dinner - One from each county

More From The Irish Examiner