O'Shea and Conway honoured as UCC dominate college awards

Sean O'Shea, left and Shane Conway, right , the winners of the player of the year awards for the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup

A UCC or a Kerry double, that is the question as Shane Conway and Seán O’Shea have been honoured as the best Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup players.

Lixnaw man Conway was inspirational as his exquisite marksmanship helped guide UCC to their Fitzgibbon Cup title. The only player on his team not to play in Division 1, he scored 38 points (27 from frees) across the campaign.

His fellow Kerryman and freetaker O’Shea was just as vital to the college’s elite football team claiming the Sigerson title. The Kenmare star was never so influential as in the final win over St Mary’s as he was throughout the run, kicking seven points, five from frees.

The pair are among 14 UCC players honoured in the Electric Ireland HE Rising Stars teams. O’Shea is included alongside Kerry team-mates Brian Ó Beaglaoich and Graham O’Sullivan and countymen Padraig Lucey and Daniel O’Brien. UCC captain and Cork defender Cian Kiely is also among the 15.

In the Fitzgibbon selection, Conway is joined by his college mates Niall O’Leary, Eddie Gunning, Chris O’Leary, Paddy O’Loughlin, Conor Browne, Shane Kingston and Mark Kehoe.

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019

FOOTBALL: Mark Reid, (St. Mary’s); Brian Ó Beaglaoích, (UCC), Kevin Mc Donnell, (NUIG), Graham O’Sullivan, (UCC); Cian Kiely, (UCC), Daniel O’Brien, (UCC), Cillian O’Shea, (UCD); Jarlath Óg Burns, (St. Mary’s), Padraig Lucey, (UCC); Michael Langan, (LYIT), Sean O’Shea, (UCC), Peter Cooke, (NUIG); Stephen McConville, (St. Mary’s), Evan O’Carroll, (UCD), Shane McGuigan, (St. Mary’s).

HURLING: Eoghan Cahill, (Mary Immaculate); Niall O’Leary, (UCC), Eddie Gunning, (UCC), Thomas Grimes, (Mary Immaculate); Chris O’Leary, (UCC), Paddy O’Loughlin, (UCC), Chris Crummey, (DCU); Conor Browne, (UCC), Jarlath Mannion, (GMIT); Shane Kingston, (UCC), Aaron Gillane, (Mary Immaculate), James Bergin, (DCU); Evan Niland, (NUIG); Shane Conway, (UCC), Mark Kehoe, (UCC).

GAA podcast: Cork SHC preview, Ilen shock. GAA's hip injury epidemic?

More on this topic

Cork's Orla Finn named LGFA player of the month for May

Strength in depth makes Cork genuine contenders

Cork cruise past troubled Waterford to win by 13 points

Cork minors still in the hunt for place in final after Waterford victory

More in this Section

US Open day three: Woodland holds narrow lead over Rose

Tyson Fury eases to victory over Tom Schwarz in Las Vegas

In Pictures: Tyson Fury v Tom Schwarz

Three Dublin strikes knock Galway out of the Championship


John McCarthy gives standout performance but Evening Train takes safe route

The Currabinny cooks celebrate the courgette

Cork city in the rare oul’ times

What next for Madonna?

More From The Irish Examiner