One change to Tipperary team for All-Ireland semi

By Stephen Barry

Eamon O’Shea’s Tipperary show one change for their All-Ireland semi-final encounter with Galway, as Conor O’Brien beats Michael Breen to the left-corner back slot.

Breen started the Munster final against Waterford, playing further out the field, but with Paddy Stapleton and Michael Cahill still not back to full fitness, O’Brien regains his place in the team.

The forward unit remains unchanged as it has throughout the Championship, with Tipperary lining-out 10 of the 15 who started against Galway in last summer’s Qualifier – Stapleton, Cahill, Gearoid Ryan, Lar Corbett and Noel McGrath those who have made way.

McGrath is set to be considered for some game time on Sunday as he recovers from testicular cancer surgery.

A win on Sunday would see the Premier qualify for their fifth final in seven years.

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson (Portroe);

Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty);

Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule);

James Woodlock (Drom-Inch), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch);

Jason Forde (Silvermines), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – Capt), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha);

John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Seamus Callanan (Drom-Inch), Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh’s).

More on this topic

More in this Section

Shane Lowry shooting low with new ‘weapons’

Waterford left reeling after Europa League ejection

‘If we give Leinster 44 points, it could be difficult’

Jonathan Sexton carries can for struggles up front


Rebel insiders share Cork city's hidden treasures

The dos and don’ts of BBQing

Sony Photography Awards: As the winners are announced, here’s 10 top travel shots

5 wearable ways to play with pink – spring’s biggest make-up trend

More From The Irish Examiner