Mayo midfielder Barry Moran retires from inter-county football

Mayo footballer Barry Moran has retired from inter-county football.

According to Midwest Radio, the chartered accountant is to travel abroad for work and has informed Stephen Rochford and his teammates of the decision.

Moran played 13 seasons for Mayo since making his debut in 2005 against Kerry. He played in five All-Ireland finals - starting the 2012 decider and coming on a sub in 2006, 2013 and the 2016 draw and replay - through the ups and downs of Mayo's luckless pursuit for Sam Maguire.

He also endured heartbreak in two All-Ireland Club finals with Castlebar Mitchels, who he will continue playing for.

He enjoyed huge success at provincial level, however, winning six Connacht Senior titles, two Club titles and three at U21 level, as well as an All-Ireland U21 victory in 2006.

He also won four Mayo SFC titles.

The versatile midfielder was used both as a full-forward and sweeper in front of the full-back line in recent years, but missed all of 2017 through injury and didn't feature this summer despite injuries to first-choice midfielders Tom Parsons and Seamus O’Shea.

PaperTalk GAA Podcast: Dalo on a different Limerick, Divo on Galway's plan and Kerry's collapse

Related Articles

Landslide win for UCC in Sigerson Cup clash with Athlone

Keelan Sexton drives UL to victory over DIT

St Mary's stun hosts with victory in free-taking competition

Pobalscoil Chorca Duibhne stumbled into final four after late goal against St Flannan's

More in this Section

I root for him: Agassi believes Djokovic can surpass Federer’s grand slam record

Football rumours from the media

Could there be an end to the struggle for beloved Saint Long?

Derby hold their nerve to beat Southampton on penalties


Read an excerpt of 'My Coney Island Baby' below

Bernard O'Shea on hitting the road with old pal Karl Spain

Learning Points: My wife is having a baby and I’m stressed at work

Your guide to luxury - but affordable - spa experiences

More From The Irish Examiner