Kilkenny make two changes for Waterford semi-final

By Stephen Barry

Brian Cody has made two changes to the Kilkenny team that will face Waterford on Sunday, with Shane Prendergast and Michael Fennelly coming into the side.

Fennelly returns from injury to replace John Power, while Shane Prendergast makes his first Championship start at the age of 29. He takes the place of injury-hit Jackie Tyrell.

Richie Hogan, TJ Reid and Joey Holden all start despite reports of minor injuries.

Cody’s son Diarmuid makes the bench for the first time, while Richie Power remains sidelined through injury.

Waterford have also released their team tonight.

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy (Glenmore);

Paul Murphy (Danesfort), Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks, capt.), Shane Prendergast (Clara);

Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge), Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro);

Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Conor Fogarty (Erins Own);

Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon), Richie Hogan (Danesfort), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks);

Ger Aylward (Glenmore), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoin Larkin (James Stephens).

Subs: Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Michael Walsh (Young Irelands), Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge), Diarmuid Cody (James Stephens), Lester Ryan (Clara), Joe Lyng (Rower Inistioge), John Power (Carrickshock), Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown), Matthew Ruth (James Stephens), Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), Conor Martin (Emeralds).

More on this topic

More in this Section

UEFA called to investigate as “anger” expressed over Schar concussion

Cardiff to argue Sala transfer was invalid

O’Neill eager to win on the road after solid start at home

Season over for luckless van der Flier


As Big Sean speaks out about his mental health, Five more celebs open up on male anxiety

Sex advice with Suzi Godson: We’re getting divorced — but we’re still having sex

Open your mind to making an entrance

Sleeping next to a loud snorer? Here’s how to finally get some peace at night

More From The Irish Examiner