Kilkenny and Tyrone dominate player-of-the-year nominations

Kilkenny's scoring hero from the recent All-Ireland final Eddie Brennan and Tyrone's two-time All-Ireland-winning captain Brian Dooher top the list of nominees for the Vodafone GAA Player of the Year awards.

The announcement of the shortlist was made last night and notably, there are no previous winners of either the football or hurling award in the running for the 2008 gongs.

For the Hurler of the Year award, Brennan, who scored 2-4 in the Cats' hammering of Waterford, will face competition from his teammate Eoin Larkin and Deise star Eoin Kelly, who top-scored in the 2008 championship with 7-43.

Larkin was nominated for his first All Star award last week and all other nominees for the Player of the Year, in both codes, have already been selected as All Stars in recent seasons.

In the running to be named Footballer of the Year are Dooher, his Tyrone colleague Sean Cavanagh and Kerry ace Colm Cooper.

Cavanagh, named Ireland captain for the upcoming International Rules Series, turned in a man-of-the-match performance during Tyrone's recent All-Ireland final win over Kerry.

In the Young Hurler of the Year category, Cathal Naughton of Cork, Galway prodigy Joe Canning and Seamus Callinan of Tipperary have been deservedly shortlisted.

Meanwhile, All Star nominee Tommy Walsh from Kerry is in contention for the Young Footballer of the Year award.

However, Limerick attacker Ian Ryan, their hat-trick hero against Meath this summer, and Laois midfielder Johnny O'Loughlin are both hoping to give their respective counties their first ever Young Player of the Year award in the code.

The winners will be announced live on television at the Vodafone GAA All Stars banquet at Dublin's Citywest Hotel on Friday, October 17.


Hurler of the Year:

Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)

Eoin Kelly (Waterford)

Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)

Young Hurler of the Year:

Cathal Naughton (Cork)

Joe Canning (Galway)

Seamus Callinan (Tipperary)

Footballer of the Year:

Brian Dooher (Tyrone)

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Young Footballer of the Year:

Ian Ryan (Limerick)

Johnny O'Loughlin (Laois)

Tommy Walsh (Kerry)

More in this Section

I won’t stay at Spurs for the sake of it, says ambitious KaneI won’t stay at Spurs for the sake of it, says ambitious Kane

Russell mends broken fences with TownsendRussell mends broken fences with Townsend

Tokyo Games likely to start in July 2021Tokyo Games likely to start in July 2021

Taylor v Serrano postponedTaylor v Serrano postponed


'That ladder you’ve got out is it safe; do you know what you’re doing?'Ireland's DIYers causing problems for doctors during covid19 crisis

As one of the tens of thousands of people who took full advantage of recent fine weather to walk in the outdoors, it was clear to be seen that the vast majority of people were observing the physical distance advice.Donal Hickey: Stick to lowland walkways

For Tory islanders however, being cut off is a way of life.Islands of Ireland: Isolation a way of life on Tory

Louisa Earls is a manager at Books Upstairs, D’Olier St, Dublin.We Sell Books: Virus response writes a new chapter for Books Upstairs

More From The Irish Examiner