Irish Open 2018: Tee times for the biggest stars playing at Ballyliffin Golf Club

By Joel Slattery

The Irish Open gets underway on Thursday morning as the event, staged in Co Donegal, sees some of Europe's biggest golfing stars teeing off.

Spain's Jon Rahm crushed the field in Portstewart last year and will be looking to defend the title which has had Irish winners in 2016 (Rory McIlroy), 2009 when Shane Lowry won it as an amateur and in 2007 with Padraig Harrington's success.

Last year's runner-up Matthew Southgate is among the first to tee off at the Donegal course.

Below are some of the tee off times for the biggest names at the event (Irish players in bold)

Morning session

7:40: Matthew Southgate

7:50: Nicolas Colsaerts, Gregory Havret

8:00 Mikko Ilonen

8:10: Andy Sullivan, Matthew Baldwin

8:20: David Horsey, Rafa Cabello Bello, Robert Rock, Graeme McDowell, Jon Rahm

8:30 Oliver Fisher, Chris Wood, Padraig Harrington

8:40 Eddie Pepperell, Jamie Donaldson

9:20: Cian McNamara, Simon Thornton

9:30: Ruaidhri McGee

Afternoon session

12:30: Marcel Siem, Cormac Sharvin

12:40: Lee Slattery, Neil O'Briain

12:50: Gavin Moynihan

13:10: Paul Dunne, Alexander Levy

13:30: Shane Lowry, Matteo Manassero, Lee Westwood, Thomas Pieters

13:40: Bradley Dredge, Russell Knox

13:50: Darren Clarke, Danny Willlett, Thomas Bjorn

14:00: Paul McGinley, Colm Moriarty

14:30: Raphael Jacquelin

More in this Section

Shane Lowry opens up four-shot lead in Abu Dhabi

Howe: Wilson should not think about being Cherry-picked by bigger club

Murray pulls out of Marseille tournament as he contemplates hip surgery

Solskjaer rues Fellaini loss as ‘X Factor’ Belgian ruled out for up to a month


What actually happens to your hair if you don’t wash it?

Ask an expert: Why should I read aloud to my children?

5 signs you need to quit caffeine

What to do if someone you’re with is having an asthma attack

More From The Irish Examiner