Ireland Women missing three as team announced to play France

Sene Naoupu, Alison Miller and Hannah Tyrrell will miss Ireland's Women's Six Nations match against France at Donnybrook on Sunday.

They've instead been called up for the Ireland Sevens squad for the Las Vegas 7s.

Claire McLaughlin, Sophie Spence, Mairead Coyne, Mary Healy, Eimear Considine and Kim Flood come into a new look side.

Sophie Spence comes into the team.

Commenting on the selection, Tom Tierney said:

"We've got a couple of players getting their first Six Nations starts of this season, and we're looking to continue to give players more game-time as we continue to develop depth in the squad ahead of the Women's Rugby World Cup in August.

"It's our first home game of the Six Nations so we're hoping to see a big turnout of fans on Sunday in Donnybrook."

Ireland v France takes place in Donnybrook, Sunday, February 26 (kick-off 12.45pm).

Ireland team to play France:

15. Mairead Coyne

14. Kim Flood

13. Jenny Murphy

12. Claire Mc Laughlin

11. Eimear Considine

10. Nora Stapleton

9. Mary Healy

1. Lindsay Peat

2. Leah Lyons

3. Ailis Egan

4. Sophie Spence

5. Marie-Louise Reilly

6. Ciara Griffin

7. Claire Molloy

8. Paula Fitzpatrick (captain)


16. Ciara O Connor

17. Ilse Van Staden

18. Ruth O’Reilly

19. Ciara Cooney

20. Nichola Fryday

21. Larissa Muldoon

22. Nikki Caughey

23. Louise Galvin

Related Articles

More in this Section

Serena Williams makes no excuses for her shock Australian Open collapse

Football rumours from the media

Karolina Pliskova stuns Serena Williams in thrilling comeback at Australian Open

‘We pray for positive news’


Five top tips for keeping calm and carrying on

Learning Points: Hoarding is far from harmless titillation on TV

Psychological thriller Cellar Door partly inspired by story of Tuam babies

Exploring space in Limerick on the set of Netflix's new show based on the stories of George RR Martin

More From The Irish Examiner