Heroes welcome for Ireland’s returning athletes

Transport Minister Shane Ross and Sports Minister Brendan Griffin congratulated Ireland’s 2017 para-athletics world championships team after their return home from the London competition.

The ministers said the seven-medal haul was "hugely successful" and singled out medal winners Jason Smyth, Michael McKillop, Niamh McCarthy, Orla Barry and Noelle Lenihan for particular praise.

"Great credit must also go to team manager James Nolan and his coaching team," said Kerry TD Mr Griffin.

More on this topic

More in this Section

O'Shea to join Tipperary management team

Return to ‘Corkness’ more about attitude than tactics

James O’Donovan secures triumph in Willie Whelton Cup

Springtime stutters will stand to Ireland in World Cup cauldron


Lady Gaga splits with fiancé Christian Carino: Here’s how to navigate a broken engagement

As Zoella reveals she’s suffering from imposter syndrome, here are 4 tips for dealing with it

Living with arthritis? 7 tips for managing morning stiffness

Seven myths and truths about healthy skin

More From The Irish Examiner