Good news from the Ireland camp as trio set to return to full training

Ireland rugby team manager Paul Dean says Jonathan Sexton and Rob Kearney will both train fully tomorrow ahead of Saturday's Six Nations clash with France.

The pair are major injury concerns for the game after struggling with calf and arm injuries respectively.

Conor Murray is also set to train fully after he was rested from some training sessions last week due to his workload.

A 34-man squad was announced last night for the crucial game with France which sees Leinster's Dan Leavy included after a man-of-the-match display in Leinster's Pro12 win over Edinburgh last Friday.

Josh van der Flier suffered an injury in the same game which means Leavy is joined by Munster duo Peter O'Mahony and Tommy O'Donnell in the squad to battle with CJ Stander, Sean O'Brien and Jamie Heaslip for a back row spot.

Head Coach Joe Schmidt admitted he will face some selection headaches when it comes to naming the team later this week.

    "We've got a few selection headaches and that's exactly what you need. The back three of the scrum and back-three of the pitch...even in the front row and second row there are a few decisions to be made."

Schmidt added that he expecting a big and powerful Frnace to show up on Saturday.

    "We have no doubt about what French team will turn up. It will be big and it will be powerful and it will be incredibly motivated because both teams are effectively out of the contest if they lose next Saturday."

Ireland's 34 man squad for the France game:

Player/Club/Province/Caps -

Backs (17):

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 68

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) *

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 56

Craig Gilroy (Bangor/Ulster) 10

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 26

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 21

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 74

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 5

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 10

Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 55

Tiernan O'Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 5

Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster) 63

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 69

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 30

Forwards (17):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt) 101

Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 13

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 64

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vice-capt) 93

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 29

Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 1

Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster) 38

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster) 46

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 37

Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 1

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster) 44

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 3

Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 1

CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 12

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 44

James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2

Related Articles

More in this Section

What problems have Manchester United faced since Alex Ferguson’s exit?

Tracey Kennedy: 'Working with' Croke Park to run Páirc Uí Chaoimh 'a huge positive'

Mourinho dismissal must be ‘catalyst for fundamental review’, says fans’ group

5 talking points ahead of the Carabao Cup clash between Arsenal and Tottenham


2018 arts year in review: How was it for you?

No rest for the festive workers

Death threats won't stop Jodi Picoult taking on difficult subjects

More From The Irish Examiner