Willo Flood hailed Dundee United’s cutting edge after yet another 3-0 win over local rivals Dundee.
The scoreline from August’s meeting at Tannadice – and, indeed, a pre-season friendly between the sides – was repeated at Dens Park today.
Keith Watson headed the visitors in front and Jon Daly doubled their lead from the penalty spot before Flood’s deflected strike brought the third goal.
Flood said he would “definitely” claim the goal, which was attributed in some quarters to defender Kyle Benedictus.
“I don’t score many,” he told Sky Sports 4. “It was a shank but it was a goal and that’s all that matters.
“We’ve actually played better than that and not got the results, I didn’t think we passed the ball well today but we were a threat up front. The boys played really well and every time we got the ball to them we looked like scoring.”
Manager Peter Houston saluted his players for their recent dominance of the rivalry.
“It’s down to the players alone,” he said. “They were very professional today. Dundee worked very hard and were a spirited side but I don’t think anyone could deny we deserved victory.”
The match swung on two controversial penalty calls, with Dundee denied a spot-kick when Brian McLean appeared to handle and Daly then given his chance despite referee Willie Collum having already played advantage.
The delayed reaction to Gary Irvine’s foul on Stuart Armstrong allowed Daly to get off a tame shot which was saved, before Collum then blew his whistle.
But Houston said: “When a player’s wiped out in the penalty box it’s a penalty, isn’t it? Willie Collum sees it as a penalty I certainly see it as a penalty, because he wiped him out.”
Opposite number Barry Smith, though, said: “It’s very disappointing, two major decisions have gone against us. There are too many grey areas where it’s an easy option for referees.
“From where I was standing, he moved his arm towards the ball. It’s an unnatural position and it’s a penalty, but it’s a grey area.
“The second is another grey area – is there advantage, is there not advantage, is it a penalty after advantage? The referee has gone against us on both of them.”