Dublin's John Horan elected as new GAA President

John Horan tonight. Pic: Sportsfile

Dublin's John Horan is the President elect of the GAA after being elected by landslide at the GAA Congress this evening.

The current Leinster chairman received 144 votes in the first round to sweep to victory.

He beat off the challenge of Longford's Martin Skelly, Kerry's Sean Walsh, Galway's Frank Burke and Clare man Robert Frost in the race to succeed Aogán Ó Fearghail.

He will take over from Aogán Ó Fearghail next year.

The 58-year-old is a former Dublin minor manager and served as Leinster Council Chairman. He becomes the first President from Dublin since Dr JJ Stuart in 1958.

Horan is principal of St.Vincent’s secondary school in Glasnevin.

More in this Section

Josh Warrington: Carl Frampton needs a world title before possible rematch

FAI to answer Sport Ireland's 'urgent clarification' request over Delaney loan at 'earliest opportunity'

Ryan Giggs: Wales can’t be reliant on Gareth Bale

Bolton due in High Court to face winding-up petition


Full disclosure: 'I told my kids I had cancer'

7 things to eat and drink to help beat disease – according to a Harvard-trained doctor

Want to up your at-home yoga game? 7 best buys to add to your wish list

Review: Anderson.Paak at the Olympia, Dublin

More From The Irish Examiner