Dublin dominate All-Stars

The 2011 GAA GPA All Star Footballers of the Year. Picture: SPORTSFILE

Leinster and All-Ireland SFC champions Dublin have been rewarded with six positions on the 2011 GAA GPA All-Stars Football team, which was announced at tonight's banquet event at the Convention Centre.

Dublin's Brogan brothers had a night to remember in the capital as both Alan and Bernard were included in the All-Stars line-up and the former was crowned the Footballer of the Year.

Five counties are represented in the Opel-sponsored football selection, with Munster champions beaten All-Ireland finalists Kerry receiving four awards, Ulster champions Donegal have three and Kildare and Connacht champions Mayo have one each.

Alan Brogan was winning his first All-Star since 2007, while it was a second in-a-row for Bernard. Goalkeeper and point-scoring hero Stephen Cluxton was accepting his fourth All-Star - matching the number of awards won by Dublin's legendary net minder of the 1960s and 1970s, Paddy Cullen.

The other Dubs honoured were all first-time winners - left half-back Kevin Nolan, midfielder Michael Darragh Macauley and left half-forward Paul Flynn.

Donegal's defensive prowess has been acknowledged with awards for Neil McGee in the full-back line and both Kevin Cassidy and Karl Lacey in the half-backs. It is a quite a breakthrough for the Tir Chonaill considering that Lacey (2006 and 2009) has been their only All-Star in recent years.

Kildare defender Michael Foley, another maiden All-Star, follows in the footsteps of recent Lilywhite winners Dermot Earley, Peter Kelly and John Doyle. Mayo's Andy Moran has also deservedly made the cut at full-forward - their first All-Star since 2006.

Meanwhile, Kerry's four-man contingent is made up of corner back Marc Ó Sé, place-kicking midfielder Bryan Sheehan and forwards Darran O'Sullivan and Colm Cooper. Kerry's captain this year, Cooper now has seven All-Star awards to his name - 2002, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011.

Notably, it is the first time a Cork player has not made the All-Stars team since 2008. The Rebels are the current Allianz Football League Division 1 champions and 2008 also marks the last time the league winners were not represented in an All-Stars selection.

The team is as follows:


1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Full backs:

2. Marc Ó Sé (Kerry)

3. Neil McGee (Donegal)

4. Michael Foley (Kildare)

Half backs:

5. Kevin Cassidy (Donegal)

6. Karl Lacey (Donegal)

7. Kevin Nolan (Dublin)


8. Bryan Sheehan (Kerry)

9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)

Half forwards:

10. Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry)

11. Alan Brogan (Dublin)

12. Paul Flynn (Dublin)

Full forwards:

13. Colm Cooper (Kerry)

14. Andy Moran (Mayo)

15. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

More in this Section

Cabo go top after seeing off Wexford

Greene goal keeps Rovers well ahead of chasing pack

Cronin’s late heroics power Bishopstown to impressive win

Pochettino expects Manchester City to ‘fight’ for Premier League crown


5 chocolate-themed breaks to satisfy sweet-toothed travellers

See what’s under hammer at Ballea Castle

More From The Irish Examiner