Davy Fitzgerald opts for strong Wexford team against Galway

Davy Fitzgerald opts for strong Wexford team against Galway

By Michael Moynihan

Davy Fitzgerald has named a strong Wexford side to face All-Ireland champions Galway in the NHL quarter-final tomorrow at Wexford Park, though injury means captain Lee Chin must start on the bench.

In Gaelic football Eamon Fitzmaurice has made sweeping changes to his Kerry side as they face into their last NFL Division 1 game with Kerry.

Johnny Buckley, Brian Kelly, Tom O'Sullivan, Cormac Coffey, Mark Griffin, David Moran, Killian Spillane and Stephen O’Brien all come into the Kingdom side for the long trip to Omagh, while Mickey Harte also makes eight changes to the Tyrone side which defeated Mayo last week. Harte brings in Niall Morgan, Ronan McNamee, Aidan McCrory, Ronan McNabb, Rory Brennan, Declan McClure, Conal McCann and Ronan O’Neill.

Tipperary hurling boss Michael Ryan makes two changes for the NHL quarter-final against Dublin tomorrow, as injury has forced out both Cathal Barrett and Patrick Maher: Paudie Feehan and John McGrath come in for those two players, while James Madden comes in for John McCaffrey on the Dublin hurling side facing the Premier.

Ryan’s football counterpart Liam Kearns has named a strong side for the trip to Cavan in Division 2 of the NFL, while Limerick see All-Ireland U21 hurling medallist Patrick Begley switch to football for their NFL clash with Antrim.

WEXFORD (H v Galway): M. Fanning, D. Reck, L. Ryan, S. Donohue, P. Foley, M. O’Hanlon, D. O’Keeffe, K. Foley, S. Murphy, J. O’Connor, C. McDonald, P. Morris, C. Dunbar, R. O’Connor, D. Dunne.

Subs: C. O’Leary, W. Devereux, E. Martin, L. Chin, J. Guiney, H. Kehoe, A. Maddock, E. Molloy, G. Molloy, M. O’Regan, L. Rochford.

KERRY (F v Tyrone): B. Kelly, B. O Beaglaoich, J. Foley, T. O’Sullivan, C. Coffey, M. Griffin, F. Fitzgerald, J. Barry, D. Moran, M. Burns, D. Casey, K. McCarthy, K. Spillane, J. Buckley, S. O’Brien.

Subs: S. Murphy, D. Clifford, B. O’Sullivan, R. Shanahan, M. Flaherty, J. Savage, E. O Conchuir, T. Morley, G. Horan, B. O’Sullivan, B. O Seanachain.

TYRONE (F v Kerry): N. Morgan, P. Hampsey, R. McNamee, A. McCrory, R. McNabb, F. Burns, R. Brennan, C. Cavanagh, D. McClure, M. Donnelly, P. Harte, C. McCann, L. Brennan, C. McShane, R. O’Neill.

Subs: M. O’Neill, B. Burns, M. Cassidy, H. Loughran, C. McCarron, B. McDonnell, K. McGeary, M. McKernan, C. McLaughlin, C. Meyler, D. Mulgrew, P. McNulty.

TIPPERARY (H v Dublin): B. Hogan, A. Flynn, J. Barry, M. Cahill, B. Heffernan, P. Maher, P. Feehan, S. Kennedy, R Maher, S. Curran, B. McCarthy, J. McGrath, M. Breen, J. Forde, C. Darcy.

DUBLIN (H v Tipperary): A. Nolan, P. Smyth, B. O’Carroll, E. O’Donnell, S. Barrett, C. Crummey, J. Madden, R. McBride, F. McGibb, D. Burke, C. Keaney, D. Sutcliffe, R. Hayes, R. O’Dwyer, P. Winters.

TIPPERARY (F v Cavan): C. Kenrick, A. Campbell, P. Codd, J. Meagher, B. Maher, R. Kiely, J. Feehan, S. O’Brien, L. Casey, J. Keane, J. Lonergan, B. Fox, C. Sweeney, M. Quinlivan, L. McGrath.

Subs: E. Comerford, G. Hannigan, K. Fahey, L. Boland, E. Moloney, J. Kennedy, K. O’Halloran, I. Fahey, L. Treacy, C. O’Shaughnessy, S. Murray.

CAVAN (F v Tipperary): R. Galligan, J. McLoughlin, P. Faulkner, E. Flanagan, M. Reilly, C. Bardy, C. Moynagh, G. McKiernan, K. Clarke, D. McVeety, B. Magee, O. Kiernan, C. O’Reilly, C. Mackey, C. Bradley.

Subs: J. Farrelly, A. Cole, N. Clerkin, C. Madden, S. Johnston, N. Murray, C. Brady, S. Murray, D. Kennedy, F. Reilly, J. Wharton.

LIMERICK (F v Antrim): D. O’Sullivan, G. Noonan, S. O’Dea, B. Fanning, C. McSweeney, P. White, D. Connolly, D. Treacy, T. Griffin, P. Nash, C. Fahy, J. Ryan, D. Neville, P. Begley, J. Lee.

Subs: J. Brouder, P. Maher, K. Ryan, S. McSweeney, D. Lyons, D. Daly, D. Ward, J. Liston, T. McCarthy, P. Scanlon, R. O'Flaherty.

ANTRIM (F v Limerick): C. Kerr, P. Healy, P. Gallagher, N. Delargy, K. O’Bhyhole, M. Sweeney, J. Laverty, N. McKeever, P. McAleer, M. Fitzpatrick, C. Murray, P. McBride, CJ McGourty, C. Duffin, R. Murray.

Subs: A. Hasson, P. Branagan, O. Eastwood, K. Healy, R. Johnston, R. McCann, M. McCarry, S. Burke, D. Lynch, C. Lemon.

More in this Section

Amnesty International urge FIFA not to let China host Club World CupAmnesty International urge FIFA not to let China host Club World Cup

FA chief Clarke wants concussion substitutes introduced ‘as quickly as possible’FA chief Clarke wants concussion substitutes introduced ‘as quickly as possible’

Mohamed Salah returns to Liverpool training after ankle injuryMohamed Salah returns to Liverpool training after ankle injury

FAI to claim privilege over two more documents in ODCE investigationFAI to claim privilege over two more documents in ODCE investigation


Put provenance first this season and make 'Made in Munster' the label to be seen in. With outstanding craftmanship and commitment to quality, these homegrown designers are making Munster-made fashion wish list worthy around the world. Shopping local has never looked so good. Carolyn Moore reports.Made in Munster: Shopping local has never looked this good.

Karen Cunneen-Bilbow Owner, Fabricate IrelandMade in Munster: ‘I turned my hobby into a business’

An invitation is extended to all to pay a visit to Bride View Cottage, writes Charlie WilkinsSeasonal cheer will spread early in Co Cork as an invitation is extended to all to visit Bride View Cottage

After a week of Fortnite Chapter 2, we think it’s fair to say Epic lived up to their name with the game’s ‘re-launch’.GameTech: Happy after a week of Fortnite Chapter 2

More From The Irish Examiner