Corn Uí Mhuirí: Late point helps Tralee overcome Coláiste Choilm

By Denis Hurley

Tralee CBS 0-10 - Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig 1-6: A late point from centre-back John Walsh secured Tralee CBS’s passage to the final of the Corn Uí Mhuirí (Munster PPS U18½AFC) for a second straight year as they edged past Coláiste Choilm at Baile Bhúirne on Saturday afternoon.

Having led by 0-7 to 0-4 at half-time, last year’s beaten finalists pushed four ahead when Seán Quilter scored his fifth point of the game early in the second half. Against the wind, though, ‘the Green’ were held scoreless as Coláiste Choilm came back strongly, despite being down to 14 men.

Colm O’Callaghan’s goal put the Ballincollig side in front and Jack Murphy’s fifth point levelled before James O’Sullivan handed them the lead for the first time. When Quilter notched his sixth, extra time loomed, but Walsh, impressive throughout, put Tralee back in front following good work from Daniel Goggins.

In injury time, a scuffle developed and grew, with play held up as Richard Moloney dealt with matters. He handed out three bookings, two Tralee and one Coláiste Choilm, with the latter a second booking for Ross Donovan, meaning they finished with 13.

Tralee had begun well, with Quilter and captain Michael Kelliher to the fore, but they couldn’t convert early dominance and Jack Murphy tied the game at 0-3 each on 22 minutes.

Quilter, Kelliher and Fergal O’Brien restored Tralee’s advantage though and Coláiste Choilm’s hopes received a blow as Hugh Murphy was sent off for a late challenge in injury time.

The Cork school responded well, but it was to be Tralee’s day.

Scorers for Tralee CBS: S Quilter 0-6 (two frees, one 45), M Kelliher 0-2 (one free), J Walsh, F O’Brien 0-1 each.

Scorers for Coláiste Choilm: J Murphy 0-5 (four frees), C O’Callaghan 1-0, J O’Sullivan 0-1.

TRALEE CBS: D Burns (Na Gaeil); P White (John Mitchels), T Brick (Ballymacelligott), J Myers (John Mitchels); S Hamilton (Churchill), J Walsh (Knocknagoshel), D Bourke (Na Gaeil); K Williams (John Mitchels), S Quilter (Austin Stacks); J Lenihan (Churchill), D Regan (Ballymacelligott), M Scanlon (Castlegregory); J Mortimer (Churchill), F O’Brien (St Pat’s Blennerville), M Kelliher (John Mitchels).

Subs: D Goggins (Na Gaeil) for Hamilton (half-time), B Murphy (St Pat’s Blennerville) for Bourke (39, injured), E Carroll (Austin Stacks) for Myers (47), D Fitzmaurice (Austin Stacks) for Williams, D Keane (Ballymacelligott) for Mortimer (both 53).

COLÁISTE CHOILM: A O’Riordan (Éire Óg); S Dwane (St Finbarr’s), S Walsh (Ballincollig), B Sorensen (Ballincollig); C Sheehan (Éire Óg), F Denny (Ballincollig), E Dodd (Canovee); C O’Callaghan (Éire Óg), J Murphy (Éire Óg); H Murphy (Éire Óg), E Cooke (Ballincollig), R Donovan (Ballincollig); D Scott (Inniscarra), C Rickard (Éire Óg), J O’Sullivan (Éire Óg).

Sub: N Lordan (Ballinora) for Dodd (49).

Referee: R Moloney (Limerick).

More in this Section

SSE Airtricity League round-up: Dundalk back on top with comfortable 3-1 victory

Galway and Limerick reveal teams ahead of Sunday's All-Ireland final

Cipriani disciplinary hearing sparks row between RFU and Gloucester

5 key talking points ahead of this weekend’s Premier League fixtures

Today's Stories

Kicking the league when it’s down a mug’s game

If Limerick engineer the goal chances, Gillane won’t keep missing

John Kiely takes on the hype at its own game

The victors will be the worthiest All-Ireland champions in history. That’ll be Limerick.

More From The Irish Examiner