Mayo forward Aidan O’Shea has defended his actions in winning a decisive penalty against Fermanagh, writes Stephen Barry.
Mayo have got their championship campaign back on track with qualifier wins over the Ernesiders and Kildare, but the controversy over O’Shea’s ‘dive’ for a penalty has been widely talked about in the past week.
Fermanagh manager Peter McGrath had said, “He (O’Shea) dived big time, no doubt about it, and the referee bought it hook, line and sinker.”
However O’Shea rubbished those claims while speaking to Sky Sports after Mayo’s latest victory.
“The disappointing part was we’d one camera angle on it,” said O’Shea in a criticism of RTÉ’s coverage.
“The national broadcasters only brought one camera down here. It was disappointing there was only one angle to show it.
“Everybody gets to see something in the flash of a second but my conscience is clear, I didn't flop and I'm happy enough.
“It's probably more difficult for my family over the last couple of days. I’m just delighted to get back on the field.”
O’Shea said he can take the criticism of pundits, but that many comments were “unfair”.
“I just don't think I dived. That's the bottom line. I see people having a cut at me and I can be judged and criticised fairly, I've no problem with that, but it was probably unfair during the week.
“But it’s behind me now.”