Ten local authorities across Ireland to roll out free public Wi-Fi programme

Ten local authorities around Ireland are to roll out Wifi4EU hot spots in the coming months.

In total, 22 hotspots will be funded in Galway, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo, South Dublin, Westmeath and Wicklow.

Under the scheme, the successful local authorities will receive EU Commission grants worth 15-thousand euro each to install wi-fi transmitters in public urban areas.

The WiFi4EU programme means that local authorities receive vouchers worth €15,000 which they can use to cover equipment and installation costs for Wi-Fi hotspots in public areas," explained Grace Bolton from the EU Commission office in Ireland.

"This means that members of the public who wish to enjoy their common spaces such as town squares, public libraries and public parks, should be able to access free, high-quality Wi-Fi," she added.

More on this topic

Adidas loses three stripes trademark ruling

Europeans embrace European Union amid uncertain times

Presidential perks: But what of Juncker legacy?

EU leaders split over top jobs in Brussels

More in this Section

New deputy Garda Commissioner to be appointed

Donohoe standing by promises for major tax cuts

Finance Minister 'has no credibility' says union as Donohoe calls for efforts to avoid strike action

Ana Kriegel Verdict: Boy A's defence team wanted jury to consider manslaughter


Large and ambitious collaboration at Midsummer Festival

Mark Ronson: Groove is in the heart

Question of Taste: Olivia O'Leary chooses her favourite poets, music and films

Whatever happened to Duncan James from Blue?

More From The Irish Examiner