Picture This scoop three awards in the Hot Press Readers' Poll

Following the success of their latest album, MDRN LV, Picture This have only gone and picked up three awards in the Hot Press Readers’ Poll.

The Hot Press Readers' Poll allows readers to chose their favourite Irish album, debut album, track, venue, live act, group, most promising act, best electronic act, best hip-hop act, best folk act, best comedian, best DJ, and best musician from the last 12 months.

Picture This took home the awards for Best Group, Track of the Year, and Best Live Act.

It has been a busy time for the Athy lads with they're second album, MDRN LV, shooting straight to number 1 in the Irish Album Charts following its release in February.

The band are also set to take to the 3Arena stage later this month, with a record-breaking five sold-out performances at the venue.

Other awards in the Hot Press Readers' Poll included Album of the Year for 2018 which went to Gavin James, for his release Only Ticket Home which features some of his biggest hits to date, including Always, Glow and Hearts On Fire.

The winner for Best Female Artist went to Imelda May, who came in ahead of Lisa Hannigan, Emma Langford and Susan O’Neill, while the Best Male Artist was Hozier who also won the award for Best Songwriter.

The Debut Album of the Year award went to The Academic, for Tales From The Backseat.

The Most Promising Act award went to Wild Youth, who have been packing out venues throughout the country and have just released their magnificent debut EP.

Best Electronic/Dance act of 2018 went to Irish synth-pop mainstays Le Galaxie. They came in ahead of Roisin Murphy, Le Boom, New Jackson and Arvo Party to take the top spot.

Best Rap/Hip-Hop act went to Chasing Abbey. A summer of festival performances and hit singles has made Tullamore trio one of the most in-demand acts in Ireland.

Best Folk/Trad of 2018 went to the indomitable Christy Moore. It’s hard to argue when you’ve been in the business for over 50 years.

The overall award for Best Musician went to U2’s The Edge.

Best Radio DJ for 2018 was Today FM’s Ian Dempsey.

The award for the Best International Album went to Arctic Monkeys, for their latest release Tranquillity Base Hotel & Casino. The album came in ahead of Bruce Springsteen On Broadway, St Vincent’s Masseduction, Jannelle Monae’s Dirty Computer, and Idles’Joy As An Act of Resistance.

For the full list of winners, click here.

More on this topic

Instagram is made to make you feel bad, Madonna says

Bonkers but brilliant: The critics on Madonna’s Madame X

Councillor calls for Polish rock group to be banned ahead of Limerick gig

Mel B says Spice Girls’ Wembley gig is one of ‘most important days’ of her life

More in this Section

Start your engines: Freddie Flintoff and Paddy McGuinness rev up for Top Gear

Tom Hanks to walk red carpet for European premiere of Toy Story 4

Elisabeth Moss and Aubrey Plaza walk the red carpet for MTV Movie & TV Awards

Game Of Thrones star Jacob Anderson says reaction to show’s ending is a ‘shame’


There’s no fallback on Everest, so what drives climbers to the challenge?

Readers’ haven provides books for tourists and locals in Dingle

A big wave surfer on turning the tide on anxiety

Want to make the most of an urban garden space? Here are seven ideas

More From The Irish Examiner