Ireland’s Sarah McTernan to make Eurovision debut in second semi-final

Ireland’s Eurovision Song Contest entry is one of 18 acts who will take to the stage for the second of two live semi-finals.

Sarah McTernan, from Scarriff, Co Clare, will perform the upbeat pop song 22 as she attempts to become one of 26 acts in the grand final on Saturday.

The 25-year-old is best known for competing in The Voice Of Ireland in 2015, when she came third, and was mentored by S Club 7 star Rachel Stevens for the contest in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Sweden’s John Lundvik will also perform, singing the gospel-tinged ballad Too Late For Love, as will Russia’s Sergey Lazarev, who will sing Scream.

Both are favourites to move through to the grand final.

The Netherlands’ Duncan Laurence has been touted as the clear favourite to win the 2019 contest since his self-penned song Arcade debuted online in March.

It will be the public’s first chance to see his stripped-back performance live.

All countries taking part in the semi-final can vote alongside Germany, Italy and the United Kingdom.

Fans can vote over the phone, by text or via the Eurovision app, available on iOS, Android and Windows devices.

The public vote will make up 50% of the total vote, with the other half determined by a professional jury in each participating country.

The “Big Five” countries - The UK, France, Germany, Italy and Spain - are already assured of a place in the grand final.

Last year’s winner Israel also does not have to qualify via the semi-finals.

Second semi-final running order:

1. Armenia – Srbuk with Walking Out

2. Ireland – Sarah McTernan with 22

3. Moldova – Anna Odobescu with Stay

4. Switzerland – Luca Hanni with She Got Me

5. Latvia – Carousel with That Night

6. Romania – Ester Peony with On A Sunday

7. Denmark – Leonora with Love Is Forever

8. Sweden – John Lundvik with Too Late For Love

9. Austria – PAENDA with Limits

10. Croatia – Roko with The Dream

11. Malta – Michela with Chameleon

12. Lithuania – Jurij Veklenko with Run With The Lions

13. Russia – Sergey Lazarev with Scream

14. Albania – Jonida Maliqi with Ktheju Tokes

15. Norway – KEiiNO with Spirit In The Sky

16. The Netherlands – Duncan Laurence with Arcade

17. North Macedonia – Tamara Todevska with Proud

18. Azerbaijan – Chingiz with Truth

- Press Association

More on this topic

Eurovision 2019: How a night of banter and bondage played out on Twitter

Eurovision Song Contest grand final: Who will perform and when?

Tuneless Euro-noise

Bobby Gillespie calls Madonna a ‘total prostitute’ over Israel performance

More in this Section

Saoirse Ronan to attend Fastnet Film Festival which will hold beach-clean after documentary

Moby ‘confused’ after Natalie Portman says they did not date

Vanity Fair feature reveals new information and pictures from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Jake Black, co-founder of Alabama 3, dies


Here’s how new parents can get more sleep, according to a Hollywood nanny

Everything you need to know about Binyavanga Wainaina’s work, as the Kenyan author dies

6 greener straws and stirrers for your drinks, as plastic versions are set to be band

These are the signs and symptoms of sepsis to be aware of

More From The Irish Examiner