Election 2019 home

Laois County Council - The Results

Only five of the 39 county council seats in Laois were filled after the first count was finally completed in all three electoral districts after 9.30pm.

Three sitting councillors in Graiguecullen-Portarlington comfortably exceeded the quota of 1447 and were re-elected on the first count. Cllr Pádraig Fleming (FF), brother of Public Accounts Committee chairman Seán Fleming TD, topped the poll with 1,752 first preferences, followed by Aidan Mullins (SF) on 1606 and Tom Mulhall (FG) with 1,539.

Cllrs Paschal McEvoy (FF) and Ben Brennan will be returned for Graiguecullen-Portarlington, after polling 1,410 and 1,264 first preferences respectively but the destination of the final seat is still in the balance. Aisling Moran (FG) with 894 first preferences will depend on transfers from party colleague Vivienne Phelan (541) to keep her ahead of newcomer Eoin Barry (LAB) and inherit her father Cllr John Moran’s seat.

Cllrs Willie Aird (FG) and John Joe Fennelly (FF) were elected on the first count in the Portlaoise district, where a dogged battle for the final place is on the cards as Cllr Pauline Madigan (FF) is set to lose the seat held by Fianna Fáil for 50 years.

No candidate was elected on the first count in Borris-in-Ossory/Mountmellick, where Cllr James Kelly (NP) topped the poll with 1,517 first preferences, short of the 1,704 quota. Five of the six sitting councillors are set to be re-elected here but it will go to the wire for the final seat. Sitting councillors Brendan Phelan (NP) and David Goodwin (FG) have a serious struggle on their hands against newcomers Ollie Clooney (NP) and Conor Bergin (FG) and every transfer will count in the final shake-up.

Meanwhile, it was a disappointing outing in Borris-in-Ossory/Mountmellick for high-profile former national GAA President Liam O’Neill (FF), who polled just 575 first preferences leaving him trailing in tenth place in a field of 14 candidates.

Laois County Council
Fine Gael30%-1%7
Fianna Fáil32%-1%6
Sinn Féin11%-2%2
Social Democrats0%0%0
Green Party0%0%0
Borris-in-Ossory - Mountmellick 6 Seats
Total Poll:12,095
Spoiled votes:168
Total Valid Poll:11,927
Elected Candidates
Bracken , Paddy (FF)Count 5
Kelly , James (Ind)Count 6
McDonald , Seamús (FF)Count 9
Bergin , Conor (FG)Count 10
Clooney , Ollie (Ind)Count 10
King , John (FG)Count 10
Count 1
Bergin , Conor (FG)925
Bracken , Paddy (FF)1,414
Clooney , Ollie (Ind)1,129
Conroy , Fergal (FG)559
Furlong , Brian (Ind)326
Good , Declan (FF)542
Goodwin , David (FG)825
Hogan , Ger (Ind)192
Holohan-Garry , Lorna (SF)649
Kelly , James (Ind)1,517
King , John (FG)1,254
McDonald , Seamús (FF)1,089
O'Neill , Liam (FF)575
Phelan , Brendan (Ind)931
Graiguecullen - Portarlington 6 Seats
Total Poll:10,310
Spoiled votes:147
Total Valid Poll:10,163
Elected Candidates
Fleming , Padraig (FF)Count 1
Mulhall , Tom (FG)Count 1
Mullins , Aidan (SF)Count 1
McEvoy , Paschal (FF)Count 2
Brennan , Ben (Ind)Count 7
Moran , Aisling (FG)Count 7
Count 1
Barry , Eoin (Lab)756
Brennan , Ben (Ind)1,270
Fleming , Padraig (FF)1,761
McEvoy , Paschal (FF)1,416
Moran , Aisling (FG)895
Mulhall , Tom (FG)1,544
Mullins , Aidan (SF)1,614
Phelan , Vivienne (FG)542
Ó Connell-Hopkins , Deirdre (FF)365
Portlaoise 7 Seats
Total Poll:10,370
Spoiled votes:151
Total Valid Poll:10,219
Elected Candidates
Aird , Willie (FG)Count 1
Fennelly , John Joe (FF)Count 1
Dwane Stanley, Caroline (SF)Count 5
Fitzgerald , Catherine (FF)Count 9
Tuohy , Noel (Lab)Count 10
Sweeney , Mary (FG)Count 12
Connell , Thomasina (FG)Count 14
Count 1
Adejumo , Timothy (Ind)363
Aird , Willie (FG)1,573
Connell , Thomasina (FG)437
Duffy , Tom (Ind)154
Dunne , Dominic (REN)379
Dwane Stanley, Caroline (SF)1,210
Fennelly , John Joe (FF)1,456
Fitzgerald , Catherine (FF)1,080
Gormley , John (SF)131
Iqbal , Naeem (Ind)454
Kelly , Donal (FF)331
Madigan , Pauline (FF)326
O'Rourke , Noel (REN)135
Preston-Grace , Judith (Ind)125
Sweeney , Mary (FG)1,024
Tuohy , Noel (Lab)1,041

More on this topic

Kerry County Council - The Results

Wicklow County Council - The Results

Wexford County Council - The Results

Westmeath County Council - The Results


Characters and craic await at Sligo coastline

Living in a glasshouse: Meet stained-glass artist Alison Byrne

Your guide to buying art

7 reasons why Rome is the family-friendly city break of your dreams

More From The Irish Examiner