You are viewing the content for Monday 14 October 2013

Late Rohan goal makes it safe for Carrickshock as Shamrocks rally

Carrickshock 4-14 Shamrocks 2-14
Carrickshock drove themselves to the absolute limit and in the end scored a huge victory when upending champions Ballyhale Shamrocks in the Kilkenny SHC semi-final in Nowlan Park.

In the end, a brilliantly taken 62nd-minute goal by sub Niall Rohan earned the ’Shock the ticket into their first final in three years and set up a head-to-head with All-Ireland club intermediate champions Clara.

With a blast of points from the hugely influential Michael Rice, back after a hamstring injury, Michael Rohan and John Power, Carrickshock zipped 0-6 to 0-1 ahead after only eight minutes.

Henry Shefflin then inspired a Shamrocks fightback. He made a goal for Colin Fennelly in the 13th minute and with two more assists played a big part in getting his side back into the game.

However, at the break they still trailed by 1-10 to 1-7.

Carrickshock, driven on with authority by Richie and John Power, John Tennyson and the industrious Rice were never pulled back.

Shamrocks looked dead and buried when Rohan flashed the ball into the net from close range in the 46th minute to push Carrickshock 3-13 to 1-11 ahead, their biggest lead of the match.

However, experienced Shamrocks kept plugging away and a point from TJ Reid kept them ticking over. Shefflin added another before Reid flicked home a lovely goal in the 56th minute to throw his side a lifeline.

Another minor from a free by Shefflin left one big score in it (3-14 to 2-14) two minutes from the end, and Shamrocks were all over the opposition.

However, Rohan’s late intervention decided it.

Scorers for Carrickshock: M Rohan 1-3; J Power 1-2; R. Power 0-5 (2f), B Donovan, N Rohan 1-0 each; M Rice 0-2; J Cahill, M O’Dwyer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballyhale Shamrocks: H Shefflin 0-6 (4f); C Fennelly 1-2; TJ Reid 1-2 (0-1f); M Dermody, D Hoyne, M Aylward, J ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick 0-1 each.

CARRICKSHOCK: J Butler, J Murphy, J Dalton, D Franks, J Cahill, J Tennyson, P Tennyson, P Mulcahy, M Rice, Jamie Power, R Power, John Power, M Rohan, M O’Dwyer, B Donovan.

Subs: D Walsh for P Mulcahy; N Rohan for M O’Dwyer.

BALLYHALE SHAMROCKS: P Reid, P Shefflin, A Cummins, A Cuddihy, M Dermody, J Holden, R Aylward, J ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick, TJ Reid, R Reid, H Shefflin, D Hoyne, E Reid, C Fennelly, M Aylward.

Subs: T Coogan for P Shefflin; C Walsh for E Reid; R Corcoran for D Hoyne.