You are viewing the content for Monday 26 August 2013

O’Neill cool as Garnish dig deep to edge Urhan

Garnish 0-14 Urhan 2-7
Without a divisional JAFC title for 10 years, hunger was the prime motivation for Garnish and it showed when Paul O’Neill kicked the winning point from an injury-time free in yesterday’s Beara final at Castletownbere.

It had been a different story in the opening 20 minutes when defending champions Urhan dictated the trend. When on top, the losers had Vinny Lehane scoring their first goal in the 11th minute and six minutes later Martin McCarthy netted again to leave Urhan well placed toward the end of the half.

However with Paul O’Neill scoring five of their six points the winners finished strongly to retire just a goal adrift, 0-6 to 2-3 and soon after the break points from Seán ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan (two frees) and one from play by Paul O’Neill evened up matters, ensuring the remainder of the game was closely fought.

It continued so as a Conchúr Harrington point brought Urhan back to parity before O’Neill’s winning score sent Garnish into ecstasy.

Scorers for Garnish: P O’Neill (0-8, 0-5fs), S ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan (2fs), F ‘JL’ O’Sullivan (2fs) (0-2 each), F Sheehan, B ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan (0-1).

Scorers for Urhan: C Harrington (0-4, 3fs), V Lehane, M McCarthy (1-0 each), M O’Neill (0-2), I O’Sullivan (0-1).

GARNISH: M O’Sullivan; R Murphy, É Murphy, D O’Sullivan; F Sheehan, J Harrington, D Harrington; A Walsh, B ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan; H O’Sullivan, S ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan, D Sheehan, P ‘Bernie O’Sullivan, A O’Sullivan, P O’Neill.
Subs: O O’Sullivan for R Murphy (inj), C O’Neill for D Sheehan, F ‘JL’ O’Sullivan for F Sheehan, D Henshaw for A O’Sullivan, S Henshaw for P ‘Bernie’ O’Sullivan.

URHAN: S Daly; C O’Shea, L Daly, A O’Neill; B Healy, D McCarthy, M O’Shea; D O’ Dwyer, J Healy; M O’Neill, C Harrington, B Healy; F O’Dwyer, V Lehane, M McCarthy.

Subs: C Lowney for I O’Sullivan D Cronin for B Healy, PJ Cadogan for A O’Neill.

Referee: T Clifford (Sneem).