Three Cork newcomers go into action for Dublin clash

CORK call up three newcomers, Eoin Cadogan of Douglas, Brian Corry, Ballymartle and young Glen Rovers forward Patrick Horgan for their Allianz NHL clash with Dublin in Parnell Park on Sunday.

Three Cork newcomers go into action for Dublin clash

Cadogan makes his debut at right half-back, Corry at centre-forward and Horgan at top of the right on a team captained by centre-back John Gardiner.

O’Neill and O’Connor hold down the two corner back positions, McGann is named at left half-back with Jason Barrett teaming up with Tom Kenny at midfield. Kieran Murphy (Erin’s Own) and Timmy McCarthy occupy the wing half-forward positions, while Neil Ronan is named at full-forward with Cronin on his left.

Allstar centre-back Ken McGrath will make his first league appearance of the season when Waterford play host to Antrim at Fraher Field, Dungarvan on Sunday.

Having resumed light training last month after a protracted absence through injury, McGrath’s return will be timely as Waterford seek to successfully defend the league title they won last May for the first time in 44 years.

There had been fears initially that the Mount Sion clubman’s injury might necessitate surgery, but the eventual medical diagnosis was that a period of complete rest would clear the problem. That seems to have done the trick for him, although the picture will become much clearer when he has a competitive 70 minutes behind him.

McGrath’s brother Eoin has also resumed light training following his injury problems but is not being risked at this stage, while another of the Mount Sion contingent, Tony Browne, is unlikely to mark his return to the side for at least another month.

Tipperary have made five changes from the team that defeated Limerick last time out for Sunday’s clash with Galway at Pearse Stadium.

Defenders Declan Fanning and Diarmuid Fitzgerald have been ruled out because of injury and are replaced by Paul Curran and Eamon Corcoran. Curran will wear the number three shirt with Corcoran at right half back.

Shane McGrath replaces Shane Maher at midfield, while Hugh Maloney and John O’Brien take over the centre forward and left half forward positions respectively from Pat Kerwick and Willie Ryan. Shanahan takes over on the forty.

Gerry O’Grady and David Barrett return to the Clare team for their League tie with Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday, while exciting newcomer Tommy Holland will make his senior debut for the Banner.

Limerick have also rung the changes for this local-derby battle. Brian Murray returns to goal in place of Dave Bulfin. Damien Reale and Seamus Hickey take over the corner back positions from Mark O’Riordan and Martin Cahill. Mark Foley is preferred to David Clancy at left half back. Mike O’Brien replaces Wayne McNamara at midfield. Michael Fitzgerald and Ollie Moran come into the half forward line in place of Hugh Flavin and Alan O’Connor, while Sean O’Connor takes over the full forward berth from Paudie Brown.

Meanwhile, Tyrone ace Brian McGuigan has been given the go-ahead by medical experts to resume his playing career.

And McGuigan could feature in the county’s next NFL tie against Laois on Saturday week. The double All-Ireland winner has been training with the squad for some weeks now, as he recovers from a serious eye injury.

McGuigan sustained the injury last year as he returned to action following a double leg break, and has not played for the Red Hands for over two years.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has hinted that McGuigan could feature in the squad that will be selected for the clash with the O’Moore men.

CORK (SH v Dublin): D. Óg Cusack; S. O’Neill, D. O’Sullivan, C. O’Connor; E. Cadogan, J. Cardiner, K. McGann; J. Barrett, T. Kenny; K. Murphy (Erin’s Own), B. Corry, T. McCarthy; P. Horgan, N. Ronan, P. Cronin.

TIPPERARY (SH v Galway): B. Cummins; E. Buckley, P. Curran, C. O’Brien; E. Corcoran, C. O’Mahoney, B. Dunne; J. Woodlock, S. McGrath; B. O’Dwyer, H. Maloney, J. O’Brien; E. Kelly, L. Corbett, S. Butler.

WATERFORD (SH Antrim): C. Hennessy; E. Murphy, K. Moran, A. Kearney; R. Foley, K. McGrath, J. Kennedy; M. Walsh, S. O’Sullivan; S. Prendergast, D. Shanahan, E. Kelly; S. Walsh, D. Prendergast, S. Casey.

CLARE (SH v Limerick): P. Brennan; T. Keogh, F. Lohan, G. O’Grady; P. Donlon, T. Holland, P. Vaughan; B. O’Connell, C. Lynch; J. Clancy, D. Barrett, T. Carmody; N. Gilligan, B. Nugent, M. Flaherty.

LIMERICK (SH v Clare): B. Murray; D. Reale, S. Lucey, S. Hickey; M. O’Brien, P. O’Dwyer, M. Foley; D. O’Grady, Mike O’Brien; M. Fitzgerald, O. Moran, S. Lavin; A. O’Shaughnessy, S. O’Connor, P. Tobin.

© Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved

More in this Section

Mike Quirke: Trend of modern sweepers the GAA's version of keeping up with the Kardashians

Call for directors of hurling and football to sort Cork GAA crisis

Tomás Ó Sé edgy over early bet on Mayo to win the All-Ireland

James Horan talks about the 2011 game that almost ended his time as Mayo manager

You might also like

Breaking Stories

Champions League final - Real Madrid v Atlético Madrid: Luka Modric can light up the San Siro

Jenson Button thankful to escape injury after freak collision in Monaco

FA Cup quarter-final replays ditched in effort to ease fixture congestion

Everything you need to know ahead of the Republic of Ireland v Holland game


Catch him if you can: Brendan Shine is still entertaining after 50 years

A question of taste: Eimear O’Herlihy

How moving to Toronto helped me to drink less

New campaign hopes to tackle chronic pain through communication

More From The Irish Examiner