Rassie Erasmus calls for cavalry as Reds seek redemption

If you are going to make changes in the aftermath of a crushing defeat you would be advised to have a few British & Irish Lions hanging around the place looking for some game time and that is just the luxury Rassie Erasmus has at his disposal this afternoon.

Munster face Cardiff Blues at Thomond Park today (1.30pm) looking to atone for their Guinness PRO14 horror show in Glasgow eight days ago when a no-show in terms of physicality saw them hammered 37-15 at Scotstoun. No better men, then, than captain Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander and Conor Murray to welcome back to the fold as Erasmus makes nine changes from that side

O’Mahony and Stander move into the back row alongside Tommy O’Donnell, who remains at openside, and there are four further changes to the pack, with Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan making their first starts of the campaign.

Injury to lock Jean Kleyn and a suspension for Fineen Wycherley, a result of his red card last weekend, means Robin Copeland deputises in a second-row partnership with Billy Holland. Scrum-half Murray returns at Duncan Williams’ expense while Ian Keatley regains the fly-half berth in place of Tyler Bleyendaal, who drops out of the matchday squad. Erasmus instead hands JJ Hanrahan his first opportunity from the bench since returning from a two-year spell at Northampton.

The other change sees Jaco Taute start at outside centre for the first time this season, partnering Rory Scannell as Chris Farrell is rotated to the replacements as outside backs cover in place of Simon Zebo, who have not trained fully during the week. There are more fresh faces on the bench with Sean McCarthy making his first squad of the season while Mark Flanagan is also named after his short-term move from Saracens.


A Conway; D Sweetnam, J Taute, R Scannell, A Wootton; I Keatley, C Murray; D Kilcoyne, N Scannell, J Ryan; R Copeland, B Holland; P O’Mahony – captain, T O’Donnell, CJ Stander.


R Marshall, L O’Connor, S Archer, M Flanagan, S McCarthy, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, C Farrell.


R Williams; B Scully - captain, J Roberts, W Halaholo, T James; J Evans, T Williams; B Thyer, M Rees, T Filise; G Earle, J Down; J Turnbull, O Robinson, N Williams.


E Lewis, C Domachowski, K Assiratti, S Davies, M Cook, L Williams, S Shingler, M Morgan


Quinton Immelman (South Africa).

Related Articles

Chris Henry criticises Munster for Grobler signing

Peter O’Mahony: Players stand by Grobler

Nyanga: 'If Donnacha Ryan wasn’t here I don’t know if we would have won'

Zebo still hoping for Six Nations call

More in this Section

Schmidt banks on experience for Six Nations kick-off

‘Gerbrandt’s experience is a deterrent to any young player in our system’

Browne: Munster’s ‘crying need’ for cover swung Grobler’s arrival

O’Mahony vows to clean up his act

Breaking Stories

Gerbrandt Grobler named in Munster A team to face Ospreys

Mercedes to unveil new car at Silverstone next month

No alarms for Roger Federer in melbourne

This 13-year-old got to play golf with Rory McIlroy and he absolutely nailed it


The biggest cancer killer will take your breathe away

Hopefully she had an idea...

Power of the press: Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks discuss 'The Post'

More From The Irish Examiner