Sean O’Donoghue inspires Inniscarra against Macroom

Inniscarra 4-7 Macroom 2-10
Inniscarra are Mid-Cork U21 champions following a narrow victory over Macroom yesterday. Cork U21 star Sean O’Donoghue played a key role and his combination play with Tomás O’Connor proved crucial.

The victors lost a couple of influential players during the second half and just hung on as Macroom dominated possession in the final quarter.

Wind assisted, Macroom led 1-3 to 0-1 after eight minutes following a terrific goal from Alan Quinn. But the Inniscarra response was swift and decisive with three goals in a seven sensational minutes.

O’Donoghue was creator in chief for the first setting up Tomás O’Connor for the perfect response within 60 seconds of Quinn’s strike.

Two minutes later Sean Lynch fed Dave Barry for a goal and the hat-trick of strikes was completed when Stephen Dorman pounced on a defensive error.

Macroom fought back with excellent points from Chris Foskett, Don Creedon and their talisman John Murphy as Inniscarra led by 3-5 to 1-7 at the break. The winners made a perfect start to the second half when O’Donoghue goaled to extend their advantage. Macroom closed the gap with a brilliant goal from John Murphy and points from Murphy, David Horgan (free), and Don Creedon which left two between the sides with five minutes remaining. But Inniscarra defended heroically and lifted the siege with a converted free from man-of-the-match O’Donoghue. It was only their second title at this grade since the competition commenced in 1963.

Scorers for Inniscarra: S O’Donoghue 1-2 (1f), T O’Connor 1-2, S Dornan 1-1, D Barry 1-0, L Collins, S Lynch 0-1 each.

Scorers for Macroom: J Murphy 1-4, A Quinn 1-1, D Horgan 0-2 (2f), D Creedon 0-2, C Foskett 0-1.

INNISCARRA: J Walsh; C Griffin, K O’Herlihy, B Gould; S Dornan, J O’Dwyer, S Lynch; J Roche, A O’Raw; L Collins, S O’Donoghue, D O’Keeffe; S Lynch, T O’Connor, D Barry.

Subs: A O’Raw for J Roche (ht), D Hyland for P Farmer (inj, 35), C Browne for D Hyland (b/card), J Hayes for D Barry (50).

MACROOM: D Kiely; K O’Dwyer, B Healy, A Ryan; B McMahon, E Quinlan, O O’Mahony; D Horgan, R Downey; B O’Sullivan, J Murphy, B O’Gorman; D Creedon, A Quinn, C Foskett.

Subs: D McKenna for B O’Sullivan (ht), P Lucey for C Foskett.

Referee: P O’Leary (Kilmurry).

More in this Section

Martin Donnelly says GAA never had will to revive interpros

‘When Nemo reach a final, they believe they can win it’

Kieran Fitzgerald hungry for more Connacht success with Corofin

Micheal Lyng aiming to be first Cavan clubman to lift Ulster title

Breaking Stories

Connacht fail to triumph in error-ridden game with Cardiff Blues

Ross Byrne stars as Leinster put Dragons to the sword

First point for West Ham under Moyes after draw with Leicester

Late Andrew Trimble try saves Ulster against Benetton


Having fled the Nazis, Elizabeth Friedlander created her own typeface before moving to Kinsale

On the double: Jennifer Zamparelli and balancing a hectic life and baby number two

Trim back for the festivities with these Christmas fitness tips

The 40-year-old charity that ensures no-one dies alone and poor

More From The Irish Examiner