Knocknagree end Kerry dominance in Munster junior final

KERRY dominance in the Munster club junior football championship has come to an end after Knocknagree inched past Dromid Pearses in a brilliant contest at Mallow today.

Kevin Sheehan, Dromid Pearses fielding a great ball watched by Danny Cooper, Knocknagree in the Munster J.F.F. at Mallow, Co Cork. Picture Dan Linehan

Knocknagree (Cork) 1-17

Dromid Pearses (Kerry) 2-11 AET 

Level 2-7 to 0-13 at the end of normal time, the Cork side got the better of their opponents in extra-time to be crowned provincial champions. 

The John Fintan Daly side collected their first title at this level. Anthony O’Connor’s goal in the first period of extra-time proving to be the decisive score. The full-forward finished top-scorer with 1-7.

First-half goals from Chris Farley and Gearoid Jackie O’Sullivan handed Dromid Pearses the advantage. However, Knocknagree never let them too far out of sight with some excellent points from Anthony O’Connor (3) and Fintan O’Connor. The Cork side trailed 0-7 to 2-3 at the interval.

The second-half was tit-for tat with Knocknagree drawing level within six minutes. Scores were at a premium and with 10 minutes to go Dromid Pearses held a slight advantage, 2-5 to 0-10 following a point from substitute Kealan Farley. The sides were deadlocked twice more courtesy of Fintan O’Connor’s late point for Knocknagree forcing extra-time.

Knocknagree edged it 1-14 t 2-10 after the first period of extra-time, and they outscored Dromid Pearses three points to one thereafter. Both sides finished with 14 men after late dismissals for Graham O’Sullivan and James Dennehy.

Scorers for Knocknagree: A O’Connor (1-7, 0-6 frees), E McSweeney and F O’Connor (0-3 each), M Dilworth (0-2), M Mahoney and J F Daly (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dromid Pearses: N O’Shea (0-5, 0-2 frees), G Jackie O’Sullivan and C Farley (0-1 free) (1-1 each), K Fearley (0-2), A Shine O’Sullivan and S O’Connor (0-1 each).

Knocknagree: P Doyle; G O’Connor, K Buckley, P O’Connor; M Mahoney, A Sheehan, D Moynihan; D Cooper, P Collins; E McSweeney, J F Daly (Jnr), F O’Connor; M Dilworth (Capt), A O’Connor, J Dennehy.

Subs: C White for J Dennehy (47), T Long for A Sheehan (59), K Daly for D Moynihan (65), J Dennehy for M Mahoney (70), T Cooper for P O’Connor (71).

Dromid Pearses: B O’Leary; C O’Shea, G O’Sullivan, S O’Connor; D Shine O’Sullivan, K O’Leary, P Jackie O’Sullivan; T Curran, A Shine O’Sullivan; K Sheehan, D O’Donoghue, D O’Sullivan; G Jackie O’Sullivan, C Farley (Capt), N O’Shea.

Subs: K Farley for T Curran (46), P Sheehan for D Shine O’Sullivan (54), J O’Shea for K Sheehan (61), T Curran for D O’Donoghue (65), M Sheehan for D O’Sullivan (73), N O’Connor for A Shine O’Sullivan (76).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford).

More in this Section

Obituary: ‘Kevin McTernan was a guy you’d always get on with’

Level-headed O’Callaghan reflects on golden year

Sharry happy he picked football over soccer

Never-say-die Knocknagree land historic first club title

Breaking Stories

Clermont angry at 'completely absurd' rearrangement of Champions Cup fixture

Antonio Conte: Making the Champions League is Chelsea’s focus now

Jason Forde ’guilty by association’ following clash with Davy Fitz, says Tipp secretary

FA gives Manchester rivals until Wednesday to explain Old Trafford fracas


A heavy burden for such young shoulders caring for parents this Christmas

How to enjoy Christmas without piling on the pounds

The Islands of Ireland: Roaringwater Bay in West Cork once homed 27 people

With ancient roots the pantomime dame is still a firm favourite

More From The Irish Examiner