Galway and Waterford name teams for All-Ireland Hurling final

Waterford and Galway have named their teams for Sunday's All-Ireland Hurling final.

Waterford's announcement came after training in Walsh Park tonight and it includes the return of Tadhg de Burca to Derek McGrath's team.

de Burca, who missed the semi-final after being sent off for pulling on the helmet of Wexford's Harry Kehoe in the quarter-final, replaces Conor Gleeson, who was sent off for lashing out at Cork's Patrick Horgan in the closing minutes of the semi-final.

It is the only change from the Deise's semi-final victory over Cork.

Waterford team named for All-Ireland final:

1. Stephen O'Keeffe

2. Shane Fives

3. Barry Coughlan

4. Noel Connors

5. Tadhg de Burca

6. Austin Gleeson

7. Philip Mahony

8. Jamie Barron

18. Kieran Bennett

10. Kevin Moran

11. Pauric Mahony

12. Jake Dillon

13. Shane Bennett

14. Michael Walsh

15. Darragh Fives

MeanwhileMicheal O'Donoghue's only change for the Tribesmen is Johnny Glynn replacing Niall Burke in the half-forward line this weekend.

Galway last won an All-Ireland Hurling title in 1988, while Waterford have been waiting 58 years to reclaim the title.

Galway team named for All-Ireland final:

1. Colm Callanan

2. Adrian Tuohy

3. Daithí Burke

4. John Hanbury

5. Oadraic Mannion

6. Gearóid McInerney

7. Aidan Harte

8. Johnny Coen

9. David Burke

10. Joseph Cooney

11. Joe Canning

12. Jonathan Glynn

13. Conor Whelan

14. Conor Cooney

15. Cathal Mannion

Donal O'Grady's All-Ireland final tactics: How Waterford and Galway will set up

Related Articles

Micheál Donoghue and sons, Miko and Galway's pursuit of All-Ireland happiness

Cork propose ‘Super 8’ format for hurling championship

'Waterford people are a mirror image of this team': Here's Derek McGrath's moving homecoming speech

Photographer captures touching moment between Galway manager and his father with Liam MacCarthy Cup

More in this Section

Meet the Spurs fan who cheekily asked for a hug from Mauricio Pochettino

Cyclist Chris Froome fights for his career after adverse finding for asthma drug

Tommy Walsh: Con O’Callaghan has potential to be the next DJ Carey

Alexandre Lacazette says Arsenal need a miracle to win Premier League

Today's Stories

How Cian Healy used post-it notes to save his career

Simon Zebo hopes Munster door isn’t closed forever

Injured Cork City captain Johnny Dunleavy signs new contract

Positive approach pays dividends for Guardiola


Meghan Markle’s sparkle sets the stage for must-have fashion items

Not buying Irish at Christmas costs us dearly

GameTech: B-listers offer plenty of gameplay

Judi Dench branching out into her other passion

More From The Irish Examiner