Radiohead and Kate Bush among British nominees for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Radiohead, Dire Straits and Kate Bush are among the British acts nominated for induction into next year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, each of them receiving their first nod for the prize.

A total of 19 artists, including rock band Bon Jovi, singer Nina Simone and rapper LL Cool J, have been shortlisted for the prestigious accolade, which has previously been given to the likes of The Beatles, Bob Dylan, The Who and Elvis Presley.

There are eight British acts vying for this year’s awards, with Eurythmics, Depeche Mode, Judas Priest, the Moody Blues and The Zombies all nominated.

Thom Yorke-fronted band Radiohead have received a nomination the first time they were eligible.

An artist is only eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record, and Radiohead’s debut single Creep was released in 1992.

US rockers Rage Against the Machine have also been included in their first year of eligibility.

Votes will be cast by more than 900 historians, artists and members of the music industry – including every living previous inductee – as well as an online fan vote for the public.

The list of successful artists will be revealed in December and they will inducted in April at a special ceremony.

More in this Section

Carol Smillie on growing older and loving life away from telly

Sir Winston Churchill’s final painting is up for auction

Susan Calman: Strictly Come Dancing is helping my depression

EastEnders’ Ian Beale in deep discussion with Kathy as he hunts for Jane


A helicopter put a piano on the 150-foot roof of Blarney Castle and other stories from the Cork Jazz Festival archives

Jazz Memories: Famous faces share their favourite moments

Live music review: The Horrors - Icy genius in a thrillingly intimate setting

Choosing a sheltered spot for Maples is vital

More From The Irish Examiner