Cash cows on show in west Cork’s high milk price heartland

IRELAND’S top earning dairy cows were on show at Carbery Show in Skibbereen last week. The show takes place in the heartland of the four west Cork dairy co-ops which regularly top the national milk price leagues.

Their Carbery Milk Products processing and marketing arm sponsors the Carbery Group dairy class.

This year’s winning exhibitor was Jerry Hegarty, Skibbereen. The runner-up was John Hayes from nearby Rosscarbery, and Richard Draper, Skibbereen showed the third placed group. The two locally based exhibitors won no fewer than six of the show’s special cattle awards with their Holstein Friesians.

The top exhibitors at the show were as follows:


Carbery group dairy class for three females: 1 Jerry Hegarty, Mohonagh, Skibbereen. 2 John Hayes, Foxhall, Rosscarbery. 3 Richard Draper, Ardralla, Skibbereen.

Cork county beef bull championship 2007: 1 Michael & Helen Cody, Piltown, Co Kilkenny. 2 Albert de Cogan, Castlemartyr. 3 Frank and John Appelbe, Clonakilty. 4 Frank and John Appelbe. 5 Tom Hickey, Ballydehob.

Belgian Blue Champion: Mick and Helen Cody.

Belgian Blue Reserve: John Cahalane, Castlehaven.

Aberdeen Angus Champion and Reserve: Albert de Cogan, Castlemartyr

Drinagh Co-Op Trophies, Byrne, Crowley & O’Keeffe Challenge Cup, TD Burke Challenge Cup, Sheehy Trophy: : Jerry Hegarty, Skibbereen.

Dr Moynihan Challenge Cup and Sheehan & Lombard Challenge Trophy: Jimmy and Linda O’Donovan, Gortnamona, Schull

Jerry McCarthy Cup, Fiat Motors Ltd Cup and Cork Marts Cup : Albert de Cogan, Castlemartyr

William Shiely Cup: Richard Draper.

John Sheehy Cup: Michael & Helen Cody.

Charolais Club Cup: Tim Levis, Skibbereen.

Bradfield Challenge Cup: Frank & John Appelbe.

McCarthy Cup: JJ & Michael Barrett, Enniskeane.

Charolais Society Cup: George Appelbe, Ballinascarthy.

Limousin Cup: Michael Pat Murphy, Ballydehob


Cork county yearling championship: 1 Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty. 2 Kieran O’Gorman, Clonakilty. 3 Leo Cahalane, Castletownshend.

€500 Skibbereen Credit Union Champion Foal: Fiona O’Brien, Enniskeane. Reserve: Sean O’Sullivan, Butlerstown.

Boland championship: 1 P J Lehane, Clonakilty. 2 Julie O’Neill, Ballinhassig. 3 Christy Berry, Aughadown, Skibbereen.

Dan Kearney Cup, Somerville Perpetual Challenge Cup: Michael McCarthy, Clonakilty.

McCarthy Challenge Cup, William Jennings Trophy: Justine Faye, Glandore.

Florence Wycherley Cup: Denis Collins, Bauravilla, Skibbereen

Jerome Hayes Trophy: : Thomas Nyhan, Ballineen.

D F O’Sullivan Cup: Jim Kingston, Drinagh

"Mr What" Challenge Cup: : Seamus Lehane.

James Gorman Cup: Denis Dullea, Bandon.

Hourihane, O’Driscoll & Hourihane Cup: Eimear White, Riverstick.

Count Michalowski Trophy: Michael Moynihan, Durrus

Diarmuid Dineen Cup: Patrick O’Sullivan, Leap.

Hourihane Cup: Denis Collins, Foxhall, Rosscarbery.

Kevin O’Donovan Cup: Simon Beirne, Fermoy.

Church Restaurant Cup: Aoife & Allan McSweeney, Bandon.


Cregan Shield and Quinlan Trophy: Andrew Niblock, Ardralla, Skibbereen.

R W Nixon Cup for honey: Donal Duggan, Reencorrin, Skibbereen.


O’Driscoll Points Cup: Claire Wild, Skibbereen; June Collins, Skibbereen.

Conyngham Shield: Marie Connolly

Livermore Cup: Anne Collins


National Dairy Council Trophy: : Estie Coombes, Skibbereen.

Denis O’Leary Prize: Freda Salter-Townshend, Castletownshend.

Jim Seymour Prize: Marie Connolly, Skibbereen.

Mrs. P. O’Driscoll Trophy: Denise Kingston, Drimoleague.


Becher Cup: Marie Collins, Rossmore, Clonakilty.

Mrs. P. O’Driscoll Trophy: Marie Connolly, , Skibbereen.

West Cork Foroige Council Winner: Marguerite McCarthy & Skibbereen Day Care Centre


Irish Examiner Challenge Cup, Pattwell Shield: Siobhan O’Connor, Union Hall.

Hickey Challenge Cup: Jennie Johnson, Ballingeary.


Carbery Concrete Trophy: Mary Healy, Clonakilty

Starter Challenge Cup: Ted Cunningham, Skibbereen.

Mrs. Peggy Walker Trophy and Ardtech Industries Trophy: Maeve O’Donovan, Timoleague.

Harriet Cadogan Cup: Mary Pierce, Glandore.